Blog

A Day on My Plate

Speaking of healthy eating and making the right choices… I wanted to provide a look into what I usually eat throughout my day and how easy it is to make it work even with a busy school schedule!

Breakfast: Everyone knows it is the most important meal of the day! But what happens when we don’t have time?! Oatmeal can be made super quick and most delicious and hearty breakfast! It literally takes 10 minutes to boil the water and cook the oatmeal and you can put anything you like on top!

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 4.13.35 PM.png
Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Oatmeal with honey, walnuts, cinnamon and bananas.

Snack One: A healthy diet does not consist of three large meals, rather 5 or 6 smaller meals. So I like to have at least 2 healthy snacks during the day! My first snack usually consists of fruit. Especially in the summer when fruits are in season I like to mix it up!

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 4.13.50 PM.png

Fruits and vegetables are great snacks because they require no prep what so ever. Just rinse them off and they are ready to eat! Doesn’t get much quicker than that!

Lunch: For whatever reason, lunch is my favorite time of day! The only thing I love more than salads is finding new and delicious things to put on top of them! (Ok, that sounds lame… But seriously you can virtually anything on top of a salad!) This one has sliced turkey meat, tomatoes, carrots, black beans and hummus over greens.

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 4.11.33 PM.png
This is one of my favorite salads I have ever made!

Tip: Instead of adding extra calories from fattening, creamy salad dressings, try using a little EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil) and lemon for a lighter and more refreshing dressing!

Snack 2: Now, I do try to limit my caffeine consumption… but as a full-time college student this can be difficult to do! When 3pm rolls around I am usually ready for an afternoon pick me up. Apples can provide just as much energy as a cup of coffee, so together I feel like I can take on the world!

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 4.30.29 PM.png

Clif bars are quick to grab, come in all types of flavors and are super delicious! They are designed to provide you with slow releasing energy to keep you alert and focused throughout your day. Because of this, they are good to grab for a quick, on-the-go breakfast!

Dinner: Dinner is great because the possibilities are endless. For me, a balanced dinner consists of a grain or carb, a vegetable and a protein; either fish or meat. The combinations of food that make for a healthy dinner are endless, so there is no excuse!

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 4.14.33 PM.png
A simply dinner of pork, rice and green beans which took about 45 minutes.

I buy pre-seasoned or pre-marinated meats so all I have to do is cook them. The meat takes the longest to cook, about 45 minutes, but how easy is it to throw it in the oven? Then all you have to do is cook the rice and boil the vegetables.

Dessert: Of course we cannot forget about dessert! Being healthy doesn’t always mean making sacrifices! I found this delicious and healthy recipe for cranberry and white chocolate cookies! YUM!

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 4.45.10 PM.png

Side note: Just because things are made with whole wheat flour does not mean they are healthy, however it is a healthier alternative to white flour because it actually provides SOME nutrients rather than just empty calories.

Now that you know what I eat… its YOUR turn! Take photos of your healthy snacks or meals using #wholesomehabits and get your plate looking healthier than ever!

Leave a Reply

